Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Florida is a “no-fault” insurance state, which means an injured person in an auto accident receives Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits from their own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault. PIP insurance guarantees every driver (and their occupants) immediate medical treatment in the event of an accident.
In other words, even if a person is at fault for the accident that caused their own injuries, he or she can still receive payments for medical expenses and lost wages.
By law, all Florida drivers are required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance.
Most PIP policies provide a minimum of $10,000 for medical expenses and lost wages, although higher benefits may be purchased at a higher cost.
If you are involved in a car accident, your medical bills and lost wages must be submitted to your own insurance company first, even if another driver is at fault.
If your medical bills and lost wages are more than $10,000, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance covers the remaining costs.
In cases where the at-fault driver does not have enough insurance to compensate you for your injuries, expenses and losses, then an Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist (UIM) [note to Keith: I underlined this topic only for purposes of having a link attached with more info (UIM link/content), but it shouldn’t be underlined in the actual content here], claim with your own insurance company may be necessary. In cases where you’ve been injured as a passenger, the driver’s PIP insurance may provide additional compensation. Additionally, you or your family members may be entitled to PIP insurance benefits even if injured as a pedestrian or on a bicycle.